PTSD Awareness Post 2017 – Part II

Informative and Great post.

ADD . . . and-so-much-more

June was PTSD Awareness Month
Adding to our awareness – Part II

© Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CTP, CMC, ACT, MCC, SCAC
Updated Refliections Post
Self-Health Series
Part I HERE

“Emotions are very good at activating thoughts,
but thoughts are not very good at controlling emotions.

~  Joseph LeDoux

Since my Sleep Awareness post somehow jumped the queue and was posted at the same time as Part-1 of this article, I decided to wait a bit to give readers a shot at catching up.  Again, my apologies for seeming to inundate with info – it was not intentional.

This Part may seem long, but much of the first half is review — so those of you who read Part-1 will be able to skim through it quickly.

Identifying PTSD

PTSD can present in a variety of ways, with more than a few symptoms in common with depression, in…

View original post 2,807 more words

8 thoughts on “PTSD Awareness Post 2017 – Part II

  1. Thanks so much for spreading the word, Crystal. I spent a great deal of time on this post because I believe it is SUCH important information so I really appreciate the reblog.

    I created it partly because so many American vets suffer flashbacks when the firecrackers go off each July, but ALSO because far too many people believe that PTSD is confined to vets.

    WOMEN, actually, represent the biggest bump in the statistics, and so many struggling undiagnosed following a traumatic experience. I was! Understanding that I developed PTSD following the events surround a gang mugging was when my depression finally began to lift.

    Healing happens best and fastest when you know what you’re dealing with.
    xx,
    mgh

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

